French Spanish Portuguese Italian German Russian Japanese Korean Chinese

Search form

Access language guides
{{ cartQty }} Log in / Register
Make a Gift Become a Member Buy Tickets
Access language guides

U.S. News & World Report Honors Ioannis Miaoulis as a STEM Trailblazer

March 23, 2017

U.S. News & World Report, publisher of the Best STEM High Schools, Best STEM Jobs and Parent’s Guide to STEM, today announced the STEM visionaries who will join the 2017 U.S. News STEM Leadership Hall of Fame. The five Hall of Fame inductees will be honored during a special ceremony and keynote discussion at the sixth annual STEM Solutions National Leadership Conference, taking place May 24-26, 2017 at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina in California.
The theme of this year’s conference is “Building America’s Workforce: A Blueprint for Tomorrow.” This year’s group of Hall of Fame award-winners were selected for their longstanding leadership, 
guidance, and commitment to improving science, technology, engineering and math education and workforce development. U.S. News valued innovators whose work across the worlds of business, education, government and the nonprofit sector collectively serve as a blueprint for solving the national STEM crisis.
The new members of the U.S. News STEM Leadership Hall of Fame are:
  • Ioannis N. Miaoulis, Ph.D., President and Director, Museum of Science, Boston
  • Ursula Burns, Chairman, Xerox Corporation
  • Susan Hockfield, Ph.D., President, AAAS; President Emerita and Professor of Neuroscience, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Andrew N. Liveris, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Dow Chemical Company
  • Ellen Ochoa, Ph.D., Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
“America’s economic future is dependent on highly-skilled STEM workers,” said Brian Kelly, U.S. News editor and chief content officer. “These five men and women have been instrumental in leading national efforts to improve STEM education, diversity and workforce development. They are an inspiration to all of us as we work to equip America’s students with the science and technology skills required to succeed in our 21st century economy.”
Past STEM Leadership Hall of Fame award recipients have included former CEOs Norm Augustine (Lockheed Martin), Craig Barrett (Intel Corporation) and Ellen Kullman (DuPont), as well as college presidents Norman C. Francis (Xavier University of Louisiana), Freeman Hrabowski (UMBC), Shirley Ann Jackson (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute) and Eduardo PadrĂ³n (Miami Dade College). To see all past recipients, visit the U.S. News STEM Leadership Hall of Fame.
The Hall of Fame awards ceremony and keynote luncheon will be held on Thursday, May 25, 2017, from 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
To register or find the latest agenda for the STEM Solutions National Leadership Conference, visit and connect with U.S. News STEM Solutions on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google+. Media interested in attending should contact Lucy Lyons at