French Spanish Portuguese Italian German Russian Japanese Korean Chinese

Search form

Access language guides
{{ cartQty }} Log in / Register
Make a Gift Become a Member Buy Tickets

Walker Prize

Honoring Excellence

Walker Prize - Lisa Randall

© Pat Piasecki

The Walker Prize was established in 1864 by Dr. William Johnson Walker, one of the most eminent surgeons of his era and a generous benefactor of the Boston Society of Natural History, the Museum's founding organization. This special award was established to recognize work in the field of natural history.

In the 1960s, the Walker Prize guidelines were broadened to recognize "meritorious published scientific investigation and discovery" in any scientific field. The recipient must be a noted scientist, professor, or researcher who is a superb science communicator via the written word and is well known for superlative work in her / his field. The awardee is presented with an honorarium and a seated dinner held at the Museum.

Photo: 2015 Walker Prize recipient, Lisa Randall, PhD, with Ioannis Miaoulis, Museum of Science President and Director.

Prize Winners:

  • 2015: Lisa Randall, PhD

    Harvard University, Frank B. Baird, Jr. Professor of Science

  • 2014: James Hansen, PhD

    Columbia University Earth Institute, Climate Science, Awareness and Solutions

  • 2013: Michael T. Jones

    Chief Technology Advocate, Google

  • 2012: Angela Belcher, PhD

    W.M. Keck Professor of Energy, Department of Materials Science and Engineering and Biological Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • 2011: Robert S. Langer, PhD

    David H. Koch Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • 2010: John P. Holdren, PhD

    Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President of the United States; Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government; Professor of Environmental Science, Harvard University; Director, Woods Hole Research Center

  • 2008: James J. McCarthy, PhD

    Alexander Agassiz Professor of Biological Oceanography, Harvard University Co-chair of the Nobel Peace Prize-winning Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

  • 2007: Steve Wozniak

    Cofounder, Apple Computer, Inc., Chief Technology Officer, Jazz Technologies, Inc

  • 2006: David G. Nathan, MD

    Physician, Researcher, President Emeritus, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

  • 2004: Bernard M. Gordon

    Founder, Chairman, and CEO of Analogic Corporation

  • 2003: Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD

    Director of National Human Genome Research Institute

  • 2002: Paul MacCready, PhD

    Aeronautical Engineer, Inventor

  • 2001: Phillip A. Sharp, PhD

    MIT Institute Professor and Director of the McGovern Institute for Brain Research

  • 2000: M. Judah Folkman, MD

    Surgeon, Researcher, Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School

  • 1999: Howard Gardner, PhD

    Psychologist, Neurologist, Director of Harvard University's Project Zero

  • 1998: Susan Love, MD

    Surgeon, Advocate for Patients with Breast Cancer

  • 1997: Paul C. Sereno, PhD

    Paleontologist, Professor of Organismal Biology at University of Chicago

  • 1996: Mario Molina, PhD

    Nobel Prize Winner, Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry at MIT

  • 1995: Robert Allen Weinberg, PhD

    Professor of Biochemistry at MIT, Whitehead Institute

  • 1994: Dudley R. Herschbach, PhD

    Nobel Prize Winner, Baird Professor of Science at Harvard University

  • 1993: Philip Morrison, PhD

    Institute Professor Emeritus of Physics at MIT

  • 1993: Phylis Morrison

    Teacher, Author

  • 1983: Edward Mills Purcell, PhD

    Nobel Prize Winner, Gerhard Gade University Professor Emeritus at Harvard University

  • 1981: Gordon R. Willey, PhD

    Bowditch Professor of Central American and Mexican Archeology and Ethnology at Harvard University

  • 1978: Sherwood L. Washburn, PhD

    Professor, Department of Anthropology at University of California, Berkeley

  • 1976: Richard M. Eakin, PhD

    Department of Zoology at University of California, Berkeley

  • 1973: Alfred C. Redfield, PhD

    Natural History Scholar

  • 1971: Ernst Mayer, PhD

    Director, Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University

  • 1970: Irven DeVore, PhD

    Professor of Anthropology at Harvard University

  • 1969: Robert K. Selander, PhD

    Ornithologist and Professor of Zoology at University of Texas

  • 1968: Howard Ensign Evans, PhD

    Curator of Insects, Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University

  • 1967: Martin H. Moynihan, PhD

    Director, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama Canal Zone