Colby Society

Recognizing Our Lead Benefactors

The Colonel Francis T. Colby Society, which recognizes donors whose cumulative lifetime giving equals a minimum of $100,000, pays tribute to those who have had a major impact on the Museum. Our mission is immeasurably deepened by the individuals, corporations, and foundations who are Colby Society members, and we profoundly thank them for their generosity. A full listing of current Colby Society members is on display at the entrance to the Museum's Colby Room.

Learn More

To find out more about the Colby Society, please contact:

Jim Kraus 617-589-0181

The Colby Award

The Colby Award is bestowed annually on members of the Museum of Science family who have made extraordinary contributions of time, treasure, and talent to the Museum. Philanthropy is the lifeblood of any institution, and the Museum is no exception. The Colby Award recognizes the deep financial commitment and generous volunteer efforts of people who are so important to the Museum achieving its mission.

  • 2013 — Malcolm L. Sherman

    Since serving as chairman of the board of trustees at the Museum of Science from 1992 - 1996, Mal Sherman has played a central role in developing the Museum’s board through his leadership of the nomination committee. He is co-chair of the honorary cabinet of the Campaign for the Museum of Science. Mal is past chairman of the board of trustees of Tufts Medical Center, past chairman of the board of directors for the New England Sports Lodge, B’nai Brith, and past chairman of the Two Ten International Foundation. He has served as a trustee at Brandeis University for 33 years, as chair from 2007- 2013. Mal was the chairman of Zayre Stores and executive vice president of Zayre Corporation until 1987. He also served as chief executive officer of Regina Company, Channel Home Centers, Morse Shoe Co., Ecko Group, Inc., and Casual Corner. Mal is a trustee at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and the Massachusetts Cultural Council. The Barbara and Malcolm L. Sherman Fund for Adult Programs was established in 2006. In March of 2006, Mal and Barbara Sherman became Great Benefactors.

  • 2013 — Ira Stepanian

    During his tenure as chairman of the board of trustees at the Museum of Science, from 1996 - 2000, Ira Stepanian oversaw the highly successful merger with the Computer Museum. He has served on the boards of many corporate and not-for-profit organizations. The non-profit boards on which he has served include Massachusetts General Hospital, Museum of Fine Arts, and Tufts University. He and his wife Jacquie served as directors of the Boston Public Library Foundation. He was a fellow at the Kennedy School at Harvard University for three years and is now a senior managing director at Brock Capital Group. In 1995 Ira retired as chairman and chief executive officer of Bank of Boston. He was the New England Council’s New Englander of the Year in 1995, and, that same year, he received the Medal of Honor from the Organization for a New Equality and was an early recipient of the Tufts University Distinguished Medal Award. The Stepanian Family Technology Education Fund was established in 2006 to support technology-related education programming throughout the Museum. Ira and Jacquie Stepanian became Great Benefactors in June of 2006.

  • 2012 — D. Reid Weedon

    Since joining the Museum’s Board of Directors in 1964, D. Reid Weedon has played a role in virtually every institutional initiative and capital project at the Museum of Science. He served as President of the Board from 1967 to 1972, and he was named a Life Trustee in 1972. His focus in recent years has been in chairing the Museum’s Planned Giving Subcommittee, and he is also a member of the Campaign Executive Committee.

  • 2012 — Jane and John Bradley

    A commitment to education and community has characterized Jane and John Bradley’s service and philanthropy to the Museum of Science. Their leadership support at the Museum has been a constant through five decades. In addition to serving as Co-chair of the Honorary Cabinet of the Campaign for the Museum of Science, Jane is a Trustee Emerita and John is an Overseer Emeritus.

  • 2011 — Sophia and Bernard M. Gordon

    With leadership gifts from the Gordons, the Museum established the Gordon Current Science & Technology Center in 2006 and the Sophia and Bernard M. Gordon Wing in 2007. As headquarters for the National Center for Technological Literacy® (NCTL®), the Gordon Wing provides a state-of-the-art space for creating imaginative exhibits and developing national K – 12 engineering curricula.

  • 2010 — Brit d'Arbeloff

    For more than 25 years, Brit d'Arbeloff (along with her late husband, Alex d'Arbeloff) has given generously to the Museum. Brit, a true pioneer for women in science, was the first female mechanical engineering graduate of Stanford University. She is a founding member of the Museum's Women in Science committee, a group that brings together leading female scientists twice a year to explore diverse scientific topics.

  • 2010 — Joan Suit

    With her special talent for igniting a spark about science in children of all ages, Joan Suit is a tireless advocate of the Museum. She and her husband, Herman Suit, have given generously to many areas of the Museum, particularly the Suit/Cabot Laboratory Classroom, a drop-in wet laboratory where visitors can participate in scientific experiments.